Notice Of Election Community Council Elections

Community Councillors are to be elected for each of the 20 Community Council areas within Orkney. The Community Councils, and number of members required, are as follows:-

Community Council	No of	Community Council	No of
	Members		Members
Birsay	7	Papa Westray	7
Eday	7	Rousay, Egilsay, Wyre & Gairsay	7
Evie and Rendall	7	Sanday	7
Firth and Stenness	8	Harray and Sandwick	8
Flotta	7	Shapinsay	7
Graemsay, Hoy and Walls	7	South Ronaldsay and Burray	8
Holm	7	St Andrews and Deerness	7
Kirkwall and St Ola	12	Stromness	8
North Ronaldsay	7	Stronsay	7
Orphir	7	Westray	7

- 1. Nomination forms for every Community Council area, except for Eday, Flotta, North Ronaldsay and Papa Westray, can be obtained from Democratic Services, Orkney Islands Council, Council Offices, School Place, Kirkwall Orkney, KW15 1NY. Telephone 01856 886622 or email:- communitycouncils@orkney.gov.uk. Forms are also available on the Community Council section of the Orkney Islands Council website.
- 2. Completed nominations must be delivered to Democratic Services, Orkney Islands Council, no later than **5pm on Wednesday 15 June 2022.**
- 3. An election will be held by **postal ballot** in each Community Council area unless uncontested.
- Ballot papers will be issued around Friday 24 June 2022 and must be returned to Democratic Services, Orkney Islands Council by 5pm on Monday 11 July 2022.
- 5. The following procedures apply to Eday, Flotta, North Ronaldsay and Papa Westray ONLY. An alternative electoral procedure has been established for the Community Councils of Eday, Flotta, North Ronaldsay and Papa Westray. This procedure, which does not involve the lodging of nomination papers, will be utilised instead of the procedures used by other Community Councils. Notes setting out the procedure to be followed will be included on the back of the ballot papers which will be posted to all electors on the Register for the above four islands around Friday 24 June 2022.
- 6. Results will be declared on Friday 15 July 2022.